Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

DPDT Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

adamcruzster

Hey guys,

My name is Adam and I'm new to electronics. I have been asked to use a two 12V incandescent lamps in series (or parallel) with a 12V DC power source using a DPDT switch. The series/parallel connections must be controlled from the position of the switch. One position must bring circuit to series, and the other position of the switch should make it parallel. After trying to wrap my mind around this, as well as several hours spent in Multisim today -- this one is beyond me. Any help would be greatly appreciated guys.

Last edited:
Hi Adam,

You don't need to use Multisim for this problem; a simple pen and paper will be more than sufficient.

Have a look at the attached drawing; you'll see there's a series connection of two resistors, and also a parallel connection of the same two resistors. Note in both configurations one of the terminals of R1 remains attached to the positive supply, while one of the terminals of R2 is always attached to the negative supply... so your DPDT switch could just be used to change the connections of the remaining terminals of the resistors (or light bulbs).

Good luck!

Attachments

• series parallel.png
    series parallel.png
    8.2 KB · Views: 345