Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

DIY PCBs-- worth the trouble?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Veraxis

Hello all,

I am still relatively new to the world of electronics, but lately I have felt that I am finally beginning to reach a point in my learning where I am able to build circuits with a reasonable degree of complexity, and, on more than one occasion, the thought of making customs PCBs for my projects has crossed my mind. For the most part, I have gotten by fairly well using ordinary perforated proto-board, but it seems to me that making my own PCBs would make it much easier to put together a circuit once a layout has been designed (not constantly referring to the schematic to figure out where to place a particular component), and would generally make everything look a lot cleaner and more compact. Naturally, I have looked at dozens of guides on the internet discussing various methods of making home-made PCBs. However, I have a number of reservations related to each of the methods I have read about, and I thought I would ask other members about their experiences with various techniques, as well as with the process as a whole.

With that long-winded introduction out of the way, I’ll get straight to the point about my concerns:

Ferric-chloride etching:
What is the relative failure rate of this process? Can failed etchings be minimized as long as one uses proper techniques?