Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Considering buying Oshonsoft suite-Is it any good?

djsb

Hi,
I've just joined this forum specifically as it has an Oshonsoft sub forum. I've been looking at the Oshonsoft Simulator and basic compiler for a while. Now that I've found this forum, I will have a good read of the posts and install the PIC16 evaluation software.
I mainly use PIC16 and the CCS C compiler, and also Arduino MCU's. I have some experience of PIC assembly language. Oshonsoft seems to be good value at around £60 for the full suite. How does it compare to something like Great Cow Basic. Can assembly language produced by the Oshonsoft basic compiler be used with the Microchip assembler. Is the IDE, simulator and compiler stable? Is the support good and are updates fairly regular? Sorry for all the questions. Just doing some basic research before I spend my money. Thanks.

Hello; I use it as a hobby and for educational purposes.
For professional use, use C.
It works reasonably well and has several updates a year.
I don't know of other platforms that are similar to compare it with.
I'm sorry I can't help you with more information.

Last edited:
There are a few people who are enthused by it, but it has been almost 60 years since I have written a BASIC program. I'm probably the wrong person to opine on this subject, being one of the bare metal types.