Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Conducive Magnetic Connectors

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scott Silvi

Hey all -

I'll preface this with I'm a software engineer by trade, and have been getting in to the maker / tinkerer / open hardware space the last few months.

Here's my scenario. I have a stationary object w/ a micro controller on it. I have a remote sensor in a mechanical device that is mobile. Occasionally the device will be connected to the main terminal via a hose. When this happens, I need to power the remote sensor & receive data back. There's currently a wire wrapped around this hose that provides grounding from terminal to device. I can add a secondary wire around the hose, but need a way to complete the circuit on both ends of the hose from my micro controller to my sensor. I could do this with any number of male / female connectors, but my ideal would be something that doesn't require user intervention to connect.

My remote sensor has a 2 (analog) or 3 (digital) wire output. I can either run ground / signal / power in my secondary wire directly to my sensor, or I could drop another micro controller in the remote device, connect my sensor, and just send voltage back up the wire (that makes sense in my head, but you might be calling me all kinds of idiot for what I just wrote!).

Without a lot of experience in conductive connectors, the best I've come up with is this conductive magnetic connector: