1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

conditioning circuit for a pressure sensor

Discussion in 'Automotive Electronics' started by dheera, Jun 14, 2017.

  1. dheera

    dheera New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    hello

    i am trying to build a conditioning circuit for a pressure sensor and i could really use some help to figure out what can be the options for resistance measurement if i do not want to use wheatstone bridge. the sensor is have significant change in resistance also i am using Arduino uno.
    Thank you in advance
     
  2. cowboybob

    cowboybob Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes:
    478
    Location:
    James Island, SC
    Welcome to ETO, dheera.

    Please provide the Brand/model# of the sensor.
     
  3. dheera

    dheera New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    Hi ,there is no brand name the prototype is still under research. I can only tell this much that the output resistance is changing significantly that's why I do not want to use wheatstone bridge.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. ronsimpson

    ronsimpson Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,304
    Likes:
    969
    Location:
    Loveland, CO USA

    What is the resistance at minimum pressure that you are interested in. What is the resistance at maximum pressure you want to measure.
    I did not say min. and max. that the sensor can read.
     
  6. cowboybob

    cowboybob Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes:
    478
    Location:
    James Island, SC
    Also, is the output linear, logarithmic, or what, over the range ronsimpson referenced.

    If the sensor's output is not linear, you will have to establish a series of data points of the sensor's output range of interest. This will allow you to assign an appropriate mathematical expression to represent the sensor's responses to changes in pressure.

    Once you've established the correct formula that best mimics the signal's swing characteristics, you can include that formula within the software program for the Arduino to "condition" the signal (fed into one of the Arduino's ADC ports) for you needs.

    And, since we don't know the sensor's wiring requirements (can you provide them?), a schematic (I'm envisioning a simple precision resistance voltage divider, powered by the 5VDC of the Arduino) will have to wait.
     

Share This Page