Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

BTA41600B and MOC3063

Status
Not open for further replies.

2001dragon

Hi everyone, i'm a newbie in eletronics and not good at english. I want to ask about the triac BTA41600B and opto MOC3063. According to datasheet of BTA41, it has pins named as A1, A2, G. I connected A1 to 220V AC supply and I found that G also has 220V AC which i don't know why. I thought if I connected A1 to 200V AC then I triggered gate G and A2 would have 220V AC. This is confusing me because I don't know how to trigger G when it has 220V AC already. If anyone has time, please help me understand how it works and how I can use MOC3063 to trigger BTA41. A circuit diagram would help me alot too (I don't really understand the use of R and C in datasheet of MOC3063)

Thanks in advance!

P/S: please be easy on me, i'm still learning from scratch (not from school though)

Not sure why you're asking for a circuit diagram for using the BTA41600B since you seem to have one already, referring to the MOC3063 datasheet.

The series RC circuit across the output is called a "snubber", these are for reducing inductive "kick" (a strong reverse current) from an inductive (as opposed to a "resistive") load.

Last edited:
I found that G also has 220V AC which i don't know why
G is internally effectively connected via a couple of pn junctions to the main (A) terminals, so Vga is ~ 1.4V.

Last edited:
Thats a bit of a beefy triac to be playing with, esp for a noob.
What are you building?