1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Avr

Discussion in 'AVR' started by dimper129, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. dimper129

    dimper129 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes:
    0
    Hi!

    Attached is the circuit diagram of Automatic Voltage Regulate AVR.

    In the figure, do we need the wire of different cross-section area for different coils (i.e. coil1 (red), coil2 (green), coil3 (blue) and coil4 (cyan)) because of the different amount of current that will be pass through them.

    Can anybody help me to solve this matter please

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

    • AVR.JPG
      AVR.JPG
      File size:
      8.8 KB
      Views:
      193
  2. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,234
    Likes:
    641
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    No, use all large wires, the difference in current is far too small to attempt using thinner wires for the higher voltages - and thicker wires mean less loss anyway.
     
  3. dimper129

    dimper129 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes:
    0
    thank you for the replay!

    i have still one question in my mind.
    if we put 220W load on the AVR
    will the the current in the coil be 1 Amp or will it be the sum of currents (input current+ output current) in the input loop and the output loop?

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

    • AVR2.JPG
      AVR2.JPG
      File size:
      10.3 KB
      Views:
      153
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2007
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. ecerfoglio

    ecerfoglio New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    177
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    Buenos Aires

    In an ideal transformer (or autotransformer like your example) the aparent power (VA) at the output is the same that the one at the input.

    (in a real transformer the transformer's losses make the input power (both real power in W and aparent power in VA) slightly higher than the output one, but you may use the ideal transformer formulae as an aproximation.

    You can find the aparent power (VA) as voltage times current (eg: 220 V x 2 A = 440 VA).

    So the input current will be aproximately

    input current = output current x output voltage / input voltage

    No, the real power is Voltage times current times power factor.

    The power factor (or cos fi) is allways less than one (or at least equal to one if the load is a pure resistor).

    To measure real power (W) you need a wattmeter, which measures voltage and current simultaneusly.

    To measure aparent power (VA) you only need a voltmeter and ammeter.

    If the load is an electronic one (like a PC), you need an ammeter that reads true RMS values as the current will have a high harmonic content and a "simple" ammeter or DMM will give a large error.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2007

Share This Page