Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

A good multiprocessing project?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, everyone. I'm learning AVR 8-bit microcontrollers. I'm at a point where I can build reasonably complex circuits that include an AVR, program the AVR in C and attach a battery and watch it go.

I'm not yet at a point where I can drive graphical displays. Also, I don't want to get into the complexities of flying machines, 3D printers, etc. Let's keep it simple while I'm still learning.

I want to come up with a project that involves several AVR 8 chips on the same circuit board, working together to solve a common problem. The chips will communicate to farm out the work and split it among themselves. I just need to think of the right project.

Any ideas?

Richard

This is a tough one. I think a lot of beginners get this idea at first. I know I thought about it at one time. Unfortunately most projects that don't have a user interface are usually I/O limited rather than processing power limited, so usually it's easier to get a chip with more pins or some type of io expander rather than add a second chip.

You can try some type of module system, like a small LED board with a dedicated processor. Give it plugs so you can connect multiple LED boards together for a larger LED board and have them coordinate.