1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

60w rf amplifier

Discussion in 'Radio and Communications' started by Ziddik, Jul 31, 2011.

  1. Ziddik

    Ziddik Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes:
    5
    Location:
    Cochin,kerala
    the one who drew this schematic says this circuit has 60W Rf output power using a single IRF840 Power mosfet! Is it true and does this circuit work?

    This is what he said in his website

    ""The IRF linear amplifier can be
    connected to the out put of
    popular VWN-QRP to get an
    output of 60 Watts. The circuit
    draws 700 ma at 60 Volt Vcc.
    Good heat sink is a must for the power transistor. Alignment of the circuit is
    very easy. Connect a dummy
    load to the out put of the
    circuit. You can use some small
    bulb like 24V 6Watts as the
    dummy load. I have even used 230V 60Watts bulb as
    dummy load with my IRF840
    power amplifier working at
    120Volts. Adjust the 10K
    preset to get around 100 ma
    Drain current. I used gate voltage of 0.8V with my
    linear amplifier. A heigh gate
    voltage can make the power
    transistor get distroyed by
    self oscillation. So gate voltage
    must be below 2V and fixing at 1V will be safe. Bifalar transformaer T1 is
    wound with 8 turns 26SWG
    on 1.4 x 1 balun core.
    The coil on the drain of IRF is 3
    turns 20 SWG wound on 4
    number of T13.9 torroids (two torroids are stacked to form a
    balun core). The RFC at the Vcc
    line is 20 Turns 20 SWG wound
    on T20 torroid.Thank you""
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,214
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    The IRF840 is a power fet not an RF device.
     
  3. Ziddik

    Ziddik Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes:
    5
    Location:
    Cochin,kerala
    so, doesn't this circuit work? He lied then, right?
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. carbonzit

    carbonzit Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,958
    Likes:
    13

    That must be from one of those notoriously unreliable Indian electronics sites that Colin talks about, eh?

    Ziddik, you need to learn to apply some common sense on your own.

    The author says:

    So how much power is that? Do the math for us.
     
  6. Ziddik

    Ziddik Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes:
    5
    Location:
    Cochin,kerala
    thats what i am talking about.. Most of this author morons dont make any sense!!
     
  7. carbonzit

    carbonzit Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,958
    Likes:
    13
    You need to keep in mind the age-old advice: "If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is."
     
  8. Ziddik

    Ziddik Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes:
    5
    Location:
    Cochin,kerala
    why dont u go and stick around with a 1.5v battery and some leds? Maybe u will surprise when the led glows
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2011
  9. geraldfryjr

    geraldfryjr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes:
    3
    When setup properly as a Class E amplifier the IRFxxx FET's work great!

    jer :)
     
  10. 4pyros

    4pyros Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes:
    282
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Yes it is a old indian ham radio circuit thay made in the 80s with parts thay had and it worked.
    I dont know about 60 watts but it worked for them with what thay had at the time.
    You can do alot better with newer parts ment for RF amplification.
    Andy
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2011
  11. Ziddik

    Ziddik Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes:
    5
    Location:
    Cochin,kerala
    so does the circuit work?
     
  12. geraldfryjr

    geraldfryjr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes:
    3
    Yes, those FET's will switch well into the RF range !
    Just Google up Class E Amplifier there is a ton of stuff!
    There is a site that is dedicated to such amplifiers.
    There was an article that was published in QRP that got 500watts out of a IRFP460.
    There also is a program that will help you determine the parts values in the circuit based upon the parameters that you enter.
    If done right it is much cheaper than some rf devices But remember that these are Class E and are not A or AB linear type amplifiers and will require a modulation circuit for AM mode.


    jer :)
     
  13. Ziddik

    Ziddik Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes:
    5
    Location:
    Cochin,kerala
    does it work on 88~108mhz FM band? ..would give a try if it does..
     
  14. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,251
    Likes:
    1,218
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    And cause interference to annoy legitimate users of the band? That's rather anti-social (and probably illegal, depending on the country you're in).
     
  15. geraldfryjr

    geraldfryjr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes:
    3
    Rarely have I seen hexfet's used in anything above 50mhz.
     
  16. 4pyros

    4pyros Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes:
    282
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    As far as I know its only been tried with AM. Why would you even what to try it with FM, its a sh#$% amp.
     
  17. geraldfryjr

    geraldfryjr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes:
    3
    Actualy it is more suited for FM use than anything else.
    It is one of The more efficient designs of today, >90%.
    It can be a little tricky to understand and setup.
    But it was the First time 500watts of RF power came from a $3 part.
    Show me a dedicated RF device that can do this for $3 or less!
    It has also been know to emit less harmonic radiation than some of the older standard designs without the extra filtering on the output.
    It made its debut in the 80's.

    jer :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2011
  18. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,214
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    That FET is full of parasitic capacitance. CGD and CGS thus rendering them unsuitable for RF. Look up miller capacitance.
     
  19. 4pyros

    4pyros Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes:
    282
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Can you show us?
     
  20. geraldfryjr

    geraldfryjr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes:
    3
    Yes,some FET's have a high gate capacitance and are unsuitiable for rf use ,Because of this they can take as much power to drive them as they produce.
    They must be drivin by a low impedence source in order to generate enough current to charge and discharge the gate's capacitance at high frequency's.
    I will try to dig up some links for you to check out.

    jer :)

    I had made a mistake in an earlier post and said that the article was in QRP it was not,It was in QST magazine,Sorry for the miss info. :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2011
  21. Ziddik

    Ziddik Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes:
    5
    Location:
    Cochin,kerala
    i know its illegal to use such a high power transmiter but i just want to know if anyone of u had any experience with them..
     

Share This Page