1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

> 2 External Inturrupts 8051

Discussion in '8051/8951' started by BigJim, Oct 15, 2003.

  1. BigJim

    BigJim New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    Hiya guys, newbie here. :D

    Is is possible to get a 8015 chip, with more than 2 external inturupts??

    all help greatfully appriciated[sp?]
     
  2. Exo

    Exo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Belgium
    You could use external interrupt logic chip...
    It raises an interrupt and then your interrupt routine will communicate to the logic chip to see wich interrupt was activated.
     
  3. Sherif Welsen

    Sherif Welsen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Cairo, Egypt
    May you provide us with more details about that chip please?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Exo

    Exo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Belgium

    Well, for example you could use a 74148 priority encoder IC

    http://www.ralfzimmermann.de/ttl_ic/0e30.html

    As you can see on this link it has an output E0 wich is low when none of the inputs are activated. If one or more of the inputs become activated, EO will become high, this line can be used to trigger your µC interrupt pin.

    The 74148 will then encode the priority level of the interrupt into outputs A, B and C. So you can use these signals to see wich interrupt was activated.
     

Share This Page