Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Z80 Programming

Status
Not open for further replies.

stigma

Hello!

I just got 10 Z80CPU's (Zilog Z84C0006PEC) and a programmer (PX-1000 V2.0). Im totally new to this (Only programmed basic stamp mpu's before). So basically what i need is some good software to program this CPU with (Linux or windows software) and some good links's / info about this cpu. I've been searching around the web, and to me it looks like i have to program this CPU in Assembly ? Is there any compilers for other languages for this CPU ?

Hope sombody could help :)

stigma said:
Hello!

I just got 10 Z80CPU's (Zilog Z84C0006PEC) and a programmer (PX-1000 V2.0). Im totally new to this (Only programmed basic stamp mpu's before). So basically what i need is some good software to program this CPU with (Linux or windows software) and some good links's / info about this cpu. I've been searching around the web, and to me it looks like i have to program this CPU in Assembly ? Is there any compilers for other languages for this CPU ?

Hope sombody could help :)
I hope this wont discourage you.
I think the Z80 (any version) requires some support chips ie. memory ,parallel I/O , so two support chips will get you going .. you could use a pc to load in the program into static or flash RAM
there should be tons of software around the net for this chip , this is the good part..
google "boot loader Z80"

Thanks for replying so fast ;)