Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Wireless Gun Controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

symbolx

I was thinking the other day it would be cool to turn the old NES zapper into a wireless controller for the PC. It would be cool to use this for first person shooter games like counterstrike. I did some searching on google and didn't find much other than some gun controllers that only worked for specific games. I'm not a huge expert but is it possible to create something like this? What sort of sensors would I need to detect which way the gun is moving in the person's hand to update the cursor/crosshair?

Did the old NES gun have a receiver? Or does it read colours straight off the screen (like arcade guns)...I would think if it was the second it would be mostly a software thing...and very hard to do.

If I take your words literally though, you would use a gyroscopes and accelerometers to track the motion of the gun (similar to how you feel yourself going forward or backwards or whatever with your eyes closed)...accuracy would suck hardcore. THat's what the Wii does, though I don't think it's accurate enough to aim soley on inertial movements.

I used to wonder how that NES gun worked.

It had no other hardware, so it had to read colors off the screen. The only game I ever had that used it was the infamous "duckhunt" and it seems to me the screen flashed funny colors when you pulled the trigger, and as long as it was pointed in the general direction of the screen, you got a