Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What kind of switch and configuration do i need for LED's?

Status
Not open for further replies.

purplelirpa

I have limited electronic experience, know the names of things, how to solder, but don't really know much about the logic involved w/electronics.

What I'm trying to build:
a board with 36 led's (red, green, yellow)
6 switches driving 6 same-color led's each
2 9v batteries to each switch
led's connected in series, 1 resistor (still have to do equation to find which one) for each group of 6 led's

What I want the led's to do:
be able to turn on, off, and toggle on/off, preferably at a moderate/slow pace

I want the ability to turn on and off each section of the grid or have 1 section flashing and another section off/etc. If I can accomplish this with a fancy, expensive switch that can toggle between pulsing on/off or staying on or staying off, I'd rather do that.
If this can't be accomplished, I will need a little more knowledge about how to design the circuit properly, anyone have any tips?

Are you familiar with a 555 timer ic chip?. Using one of these, it is simple to produce a free-running pulser whose pulse rate and on-time can be easily set. It runs fine on 9V.
It is capable of switching 200mA, so if you are using up to six strings of 20mA LEDs, that is only 120mA.