Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Want a PIC programmer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Salgat

I've been working on AVRs for several months and really enjoy both the STK500 and all the free software that comes along with the AVR. I want to diversify my experience with microcontrollers and want to get a PIC programmer to work with. Is the PICKIT2 the standard? Are C compilers free for the PIC, or will I be stuck with ASM? Any random comments on your experience with PICKIT2 or the IDE? What should I expect in difference between the PIC and AVR, and I'm only interested in facts not opinions on which is better. Thanks for answering any of my questions, I am very interested in trying PICs.

Salgat said:
I've been working on AVRs for several months and really enjoy both the STK500 and all the free software that comes along with the AVR. I want to diversify my experience with microcontrollers and want to get a PIC programmer to work with. Is the PICKIT2 the standard?
The PICkit 2 is very, very good. I guess it's as close to a standard as there is. Probably the equivalent of the AVR Dragon, only the Dragon does even more.

Are C compilers free for the PIC, or will I be stuck with ASM?
There are multiple C compilers available for free in demo/student versions. Most of these versions are somewhat limited if you want to make BIG programs, but for most hobby stuff they're fine. SourceBoost BoostC is probably the cheapest if you want a full version license. Good compiler.