Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using an oscilloscope (for changing current)

Status
Not open for further replies.

malc9141

(I've asked this on Chat but it doesn't seem to get me anywhere)

I have a fast pulse circuit which actuates a diesel fuel injection system. We built the circuit ourselves and it works well. It activates a small coil in the injector to lift a small plate. The plate is magnetic.

I am not an electronics expert - quite the opposite.
But I want to know more - what the circuit is really doing, compared to what we designed it to do.

Question 1
Supply at 15 v. Large current available but (of course) the current is determined by the injectors impedance, which we know. So if I connect a side line from +ve to the Channel 1 and also connect same to the Ext Trigger, I get a picture of build-up & decay of voltage vs time. True?

Question 2:
How do I see what current build-up and decay is? I can't believe I just attach the +ve to Channel 2 via known resistor, and use Ohms Law.
I am also interested in how much reverse voltage I get when the pulse ends and the field collapses, but that's in Q1, I think.

Thank you!

I have just read the link to Oscilloscopes but current isn't mentioned. Is it possible that the current is a perfect reflection of the voltage picture? (I imagined that with the events at switch off, collapsing field etc, induced voltage would oppose the flowing current).