Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using 741 op amp and LDR to monitor light level

Status
Not open for further replies.

biomedhed

Hello all,

I'm a PhD Physiology student from Manchester University and have an idea for measuring tissue density using a laser, a light dependent resistor and a 741 op amp.

It is probably worth saying that although I am fairly familiar with electronics, I am by no means competent....and basically I would be very greatful to know your thoughts on this idea and whether it would work....

In essense i intend to shine a 1mW laser through very thin sections of tissue on to an LDR. If tissue density decreases, more light will get through and therefore the LDR resistance will decrease. I want to amplify this change in resistance/current somehow and and am thinking of a 741 op amp.

The output of the 741 would then go into a computer via Powerlab which would record the fluctuating output.

The laser and LDR will remain in a fixed position and the tissue would be moved within the beam. Any change in tissue density within the sample should I guess result in a fluctuating current input into the 741

I have a few questions:

1)Would an LDR between the +ve rail and 741 input work?
2)Will the output from the 741 directly correlate with the input?
3)Will this work?!

Sorry if I sound a bit thick, cheers in advance.

Please use a good op-amp and not the 741, which dates back to 1968. There have been improvements in 41 years.......