Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Use BCD switch to vary Frequency with a PIC microcontoller

Status
Not open for further replies.

lowski

Well, I just started learning how to write simple code in C++. I just finished going through a beginners book and I've learned the basics but I still have a lot of questions. Well I wanted to see if anyone can help write a code for a PIC that would take a BCD switch input and output the frequency. So for example if I set the BCD switch to 9 it would output 9Khz.

Thanks

Sorry for the confusion, KAKKAR. I have a taken course in C++ but I'm currently trying to teach myself embedded C for PIC's. I don't know much a embedded C programming but I bought of few books to help.

Ian Rogers, I'm currently using HI-TECH C compiler, and it's C language that I'm using not C++

Then it's quite a simple task.... Find out the timer value for each frequency required... When you select the BCD setting just change the timer to overflow at the correct intervals

When the timer overflows...toggle the output.

The easiest way to start is to choose a pic chip..... Then a frequency you want it to run at......
Grab one of the demo / example program that ships with HI-TECH...or one of my C code tutorials.

Modify to suit.

I'm having trouble understanding how to get the PIC to read the BCD switch through four PORT lines. So the code will have to read the state of each PORT and convert it to a binary value.