Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

USB to Analog output

Status
Not open for further replies.

UthReal

I am VERY new with electronics, so please forgive me if this seems trivial or I am using the wrong descriptions for components.

I need something that will take an input from USB, then complete a stand alone circuit.

To make this seem a little easier to explain, how would I control 32 12v LED's from one USB. Using a software I can write to tell the controller what LED to trigger at what time?

I would like the option to choose what voltage I am sending between 1.5v - 12v, I don't know if this is possible using only a USB device, but external power can be solved at a later date. Possibly using relays to trigger the higher 12v. If I am not mistaken USB is powered by 5v?

Any help that could be offered here would be amazing. The only other interface I know that can do this is a PLC that sells for $300+.

First, you probably want to apply 12V to your 12V LEDs, and control the brightness by changing the duty cycle. A "12V" LED probably won't light at all with voltages much less than 12V.

There are several microcontrollers that interface directly to USB, either with built in USB hardware or with firmware tricks. Search for your favorite (PIC or AVR) and USB interface.