Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Understanding the positional accuracy of a servo

Status
Not open for further replies.

astronomerroyal

Hi,

Q. What determines the positional accuracy of a servo, and what are typical values?

I'm not very experienced with running servos, although I think I understand their basic operational theory.

The new digital servos mention 'increased precision.' Presumably the positional accuracy is detemined by 1) the bit-resolution of the circuitry that receives the PWM signal and 2) the precision of the feedback potentiometer.

Is that right, and do you know of any relevant specs. I looked at Hitec servo specs online and couldn't see anything about positional accuracy. Currently I'm using stepper motors to precisely turn a camera platform, but it's difficult to add a useful feedback element, like a shaft encoder, to something that already rotates so slowly.

What I'd really like is a simple replacement for the stepper - something with feedback so i know exactly where I'm pointing. If i replaced the (1.8degree) stepper with a (360 degree limit) servo, do you think I could get the same 1.8 degree (i.e 200 positions per revolution) resolution out of the servo?

I can only suggest you get one and try - but can you easily get a 360 degree servo?.