Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Two analogue signals - Highest wins

Status
Not open for further replies.

simdel96

Hi,

I'm not very good with electronics and all of this is new to me, so I was hoping that someone on here might be able to help me with a little project of mine.

I am working on an automotive application where there are two 0-5V signals generated. The ECU I'm using can only accept one signal so I need to create some sort of device that will compare both signals and only output the highest of the two.

I initially looked at using diodes, but it seems that there will be large a voltage drop, so the output signal will not be the same as the largest input. After a bit of searching on google and wikipedia I've come up with a first draft of something that might work. I've attached it below. (don't laugh!)

V1 and V2 are the input voltages from the sensors
Vo is the voltage as detected by the ECU. This should be equal to the largest of V1 and V2

The way I want this to work is that when V1 is greater than V2, the output from the comparator is 0 (0v). The relay remains in the same position as drawn, and therefore only V1 is connected to the ECU. When V2 is greater than V1, the output from the comparator is 1 (12V) which drives the relay and therefore only V2 is connected to the ECU.

I'm pretty certain that i'm missing something important so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• Analogue-comparator.JPG
    Analogue-comparator.JPG
    19.5 KB · Views: 165