Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

trouble with PIC18F458

Status
Not open for further replies.

majestrix

hi, i recently bought a PIC18F458 development board (https://www.futurlec.com/PIC18F458_Development_Board.shtml). when the MC came the code examples were all in basic, but i'm not very good at it... but i have seen some PIC18f452 with C++ codes that one of my friends has written, and i tried to compile one of his 452 programs (that blinks an LED at RB0) with 458 header file. i used MPLAB and the c18 compiler.. and used the uploader program that came with my board (CP458V3.exe) to upload the program to my PIC.. but nothing happens, when i run it. but i have tried uploading a hex file that came with my board and it works, so i know my board works and the uploader as well works...
here follows the source code that i'm using.

/*
* This program blinks an LED at PORTB RB0.
*/

#include <p18f458.h> /* for TRISB and PORTB declarations */
#include <delays.h>

/*
* - set HS oscillator
* - disable watchdog timer
* - disable low voltage programming
*/

#pragma config OSC = HS
#pragma config WDT = OFF
#pragma config LVP = OFF

int on;
int off;

void main (void)
{
on = 0x01;
off = 0x00;
PORTA = 0; /*clear PORTB */
TRISA = 0; /* configure PORTB for output */

while (1)
{
PORTA = on;
Delay10KTCYx (255);

PORTA = off;
Delay10KTCYx (255);
}
}