Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

total noob, need advice on battery

Status
Not open for further replies.

eanhl2004

Here is the problem, I have a Supertooth Disco portable speaker for work, it does not play at high volume for 10 hours... the included battery is two 4.8 volt, 4 cell battery packs at 2200maH's for a total of 9.6 volts and 4400maH's. The device is charged by a wall plug and the battery packs permanently installed in the case, it takes about 3 hours to charge as it is and once it's done a Green Light let's you know it's fully charged... (it's red when first plugged in)...

I am looking to create two new battery packs with 10,000maH or greater.. but I am not sure if they will fully charge being installed permanently inside of the unit and plugged into a wall.. how does the charger know when the batteries are full?

you can find a video on youtube showing some of the supertooth disco internals...

supertooth disco battery replacement

I am worried that I will spend my time upgrading the battery only to have the charge not be completed and still only have the same playing time as I currently do!!!

Thanks for any help!

Now that you mention it I have the same question. How does the battery charge indicator know how much juice is left? I think it's not a voltage meter, as some batteries present a flat voltage curve until they are almost dead!

I hope your question may also solve mine

Last edited: