Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Timer0 Simple Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrfunkyjay

Hello Guys,

I want to know exactly how to use timer. Lets say I have a requirement like this:

A light kit system for rc car that blink a LED when no activity or system is idle for more than 10 seconds.

I want to learn how to use Timer0 in this case, but I never know how to make it because I am still a newbie in programming.

Can anyone help me?

I am using PICKIT2 Programmer, PIC18F4520 MCU, and 20Mhz External Oscillator. My program should be programmed by C Language with C18 Compiler.

**broken link removed**

There are many ways to use the timers, the simplest way is to simply start and stop them. To use a timer to give better resolution of your earlier code you could simply do,

Code:
int GetPulse(){
    T1CON=0b0000000;            //init Timer 1 - see data sheet
    TMR1L=0;                    //clear the timer count (low byte)
    TMR1H=0;                    //and the high byte
    Pulse_tris=1;               //make pin input
    while(Pulse_in==1);         //ensure pin is low to start with 
    while(Pulse_in==0);         //wait until pin goes high 
    T1CONbits.TMR1ON=1;         //start Timer 1
    while(Pulse_in==1);         //wait for pin to go low again
    T1CONbits.TMR1ON=0;         //stop timer 1
    return TMR1H*256+TMR1L;     //return the 16 bit timer value
}