Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

timed reversal of DC motor

Status
Not open for further replies.

leslcd

hi folk

i am new to this so please bear with me.
i am trying to get a motor to start up travel a distance then when it hits limit switch the motor stops and waits 5 seconds then reverses where it hits lower limit switch and then stops. this procedure then repeats whenever power is applied, i am using a small 12v motor as a demo just to provide proof of concept to people than it can be done.

Maybe you could try something like the thing I've attached. When power is applied, the top relay drives the motor forward. When the motor hits the limit switch, the top relay latches itself on, and the motor stops. With the top relay on, the lower circuit is provided with power - the 555 timer circuit turns the lower relay on when its timing capacitor charges sufficiently. With the lower relay on, the motor reverses until it hits the home switch, which turns off power to the lower circuit and stops the motor.

Hope this helps.

Attachments

• relay.gif
    relay.gif
    33.4 KB · Views: 269
tried that and it did not work, just acted as though the timer was not present. started the project off holding the bottom limit switch and the motor turned cw as expected when it hit the top limit switch it then went ccw as it came away from the top limit it then reversed again and again in a never ending loop.
i will try to explain better what it is i am after.