Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Time Delay Relay Circuit.....is this doable?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Draguen

This is my first time here, so Greetings To All.
Just so you know, I am new at this, I have made a few projects before, but I learn as I go along and my only repository to electrical knowledge is the internet. I have a basic knowledge on how to use certain parts and that is about it. Anyways....

I have adapted (slightly) a 24 hour timer circuit from a certain Ron J (hope this isn't spam, but I believe I should give credit, where credit needs be), to suit my needs. The general idea was to have a "programmable" timer to cut the power to an appliance, for a specified amount of time, with the possibility to turn on and off the timer at will, and to have a reset for the timer. The circuit itself will run on 12 volts. Other than that, I do not think the rest of the info to be relevant to my problem.

When I would close SW1 (momentary pushbutton), the circuit should turn on, closing Q2, keeping the circuit on. The Relay should energize and cut the power to the appliance. The timer should also start the countdown. When the countdown reaches zero, Q1 should then cut the main power, deenergizing the circuit, and turning the appliance back on.