Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

stepper

Status
Not open for further replies.

andy_efy

i am new to the field of robotics. i am planning to make a chassis for which i am deciding on the propolsion system. stepper motors are in my mind. i have learnt that they rotate in steps but i want to know whether there is any way of making them rotate continuosly ?:eek:

andy_efy said:
i am new to the field of robotics. i am planning to make a chassis for which i am deciding on the propolsion system. stepper motors are in my mind. i have learnt that they rotate in steps but i want to know whether there is any way of making them rotate continuosly ?:eek:
hi Andy,

Basically you control the speed of the stepper motor by sending a continous string of step pulses.
The faster the pulse rate, the faster the motor.
You have to stay within the specification of the motor.

How do plan to control your robot/motors, eg: PIC etc...

Regards

thanks eric,
i am planning to use a pic. i am using steppers so that i get to calculate the position of the bot without any added circuitry and also to precise movements.....steppers rotate one step for a pilse but suppose the pulse are far enough ( seperation time between pulses is great) then the motor wont rotate continuosly , right? i dont want the bot to move with jerks so is there any solution to this
i am planning to use the bipolar stepper motors found in floppy drives:)

andy_efy said:
thanks eric,