Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Speed of operation

Status
Not open for further replies.

neptune

hello,

I am studying memory hierarchy right now, and i came to the conclusion that Computers speed of operation depends on slowest memory working inside it.
That means it doesnt matter if we continue to increase the speed of CPU from Mhz to Ghz, majority of programmes running on computer will be slow , with high latency and slow response time.

So, the real problem is increasing the speed of memory read and write. did i get things correctly ?

secondly, if one memory has high read speed but slow write speed or vice versa , what will be the consequences of that on computer systems.

Basically it is true. Caches are a way to increase the dataflow, as well as multithreading, which when a cache fault occurs allows the procesor to switch context to other thread which has data ready, so the first process waits until the data gets loaded into the cache.
This provides better utilisation of cpu power, but for single threaded application´s performance this has no effect. The only solution is to either pre-cache data - this is usually not possible under OS for L1..3 caches, so such memory intensive application would have to be standalone and carefully use the available caches to get the best performace. For disk I/O, applications should pre-cache into dram, which is ~1000 faster than hard disks, and work with data in memory.