Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Soldering Irons - Soldering Stations - What's best ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Musicmanager

Hi Folks

Some of you will know, I'm new to this electronics game, but after listening to your advice I've had some success in the projects I've attempted.

I need some more advice ! I started off with a cheap Draper soldering iron that kept overheating and burning everything it touched so I 'invested' in an Avtex iron from Maplins on the basis that it was their most popular seller ! However, I've only had it a couple of weeks and whilst using it today I picked it out of the stand and the handle had melted to the extent that the iron is now a banana shape and probably dangerous to use. It had been on about 35 mins.
I'm thinking of investing in a Duratool D00675 soldering station that has a temperature control, presets and a 'sleep' mode £50+ worth.

I don't have lots of money, but £25 for two weeks worth is clearly not the answer. Any suggestions ??
Thanks

£25 for two weeks worth is clearly not the answer. Any suggestions ??
Take it back to Maplin, tell them that it is "Not Fit For Purpose" and that as per the UK "Sale of Goods Act" you want your money back.

It would help enormously if you had the till receipt or the credit card receipt. Otherwise you may be on a hiding to nothing.

JimB

A temperature controlled iron is definitely the way to go whether it's part of a "soldering station" or not.

Morning Guys