Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Solar recharger for small batteries

Status
Not open for further replies.

pgoeleven

Hi,

I'm new to electronics (so bear with me :rolleyes:) and I'm trying to build a simple solar recharger for a battery or a series of batteries that will power couple of LEDs.

I've looked around the internet and I found some resources to get me started, such as AA Battery Solar Charger and this forum.

I currently have a solar panel hooked up to a AA 1.5V rechargable 1800 mAh NiMH battery (output rated 1.2V). I placed a diode in between. I tried to recharge a battery yesterday, and it appears to have worked.

There's some stuff I can't figure out though. Here are my questions:

1. How exactly does the charging work? I searched around for this, but I can't find a simple conclusive explanation for this. Does the voltage coming from the solar panel have to be larger than the voltage of the battery for it to actually charge?

For instance, do I need to match the solar panel's output to the battery being charged? I know it shouldn't be (much) higher, but can it be lower? I currently had a panel hooked up that put out a maximum of 2V in bright full sunlight to a 1.5V AA battery. Could I hook up a 0.5V panel to the same battery and expect it to work? Or would this just charge the battery to 0.5V and then stop charging?