Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

solar powering a quartz clock

Status
Not open for further replies.

nic_marsa11

hello all, you helped me before, which i'm very grateful for. I'm completely new to electronics so i need help again.

Attached is what i think I'm meant to make in order to power a clock motor from a solar cell. If anyone can point out mistakes I'd be very grateful.

Also, I'm finding it surprisingly difficult to find parts. Farnell only accept £20 minimum order and don't stock BAT45's. Maplins stock similar items, but since I'm new and skint i hesitate to deviate from specs. Anyone got suggestions on where to shop?

cheers
nic

Attachments

• solar charged quartz clock.jpg
    solar charged quartz clock.jpg
    38.3 KB · Views: 214
Last edited:
Depending on the answer to Eric's question, you will likely need to use a "SuperCapacitor" (1Farad @ 2.5V) to keep the clock running at night.
Some solar panels do not require the external diode (the diode is intrinsic).

Last edited:
Your clock will only run when and while the capacitor is charged,sunshine of course,, how much current does the clock require to run.?

**broken link removed**

thanks for the link, i'll check it out.

In the attachment I've written that the clock needs 150uA to run. I need the clock to run over night. I was told the cap is a super capacitor that would be charged enough to keep the clock running until the next day. Do you think I've got the right spec and set up for this to happen?

cheers