Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Solar Car

Status
Not open for further replies.

Archangel4life

ok, here's the bit, Im a high school student working on a solar car project. ive made a frame out of 1 1/4 inch pvc, and i have a fiberglass seat and a solar panel from bp rated at 75 wats EDIT ( 12 Volts)

im having the darndest time trying to find a motor and a possible way to gear this crazy thing to get it to move.

i have a reedy modified rc car motor, its got the right wattage i think, but heh its 6 volts i believe and i dunno if thats wise to try and hook that up to the solar panel

anyway, this project is real rough and well im really having trouble trying to find a solution to that power problem all solar cars have.

my budjet is probably 500 bucks right now (i think thats what the school will pay :)) anyway, if you guys can help me at all that'd be great.

Well you haven't filled your location in, so we don't have any idea where you might be!. As you mention 'bucks', presumably you are in the USA?, but that covers a huge amount of ground.

So, really you need to mention where you are, and how sunny it is, a solar panel rated at 75W requires incredibly bright sunshine to produce it's rated output (think Death Valley in the summer at noon!). Assuming you are not in Death Valley?, I would advise measuring the output of the panel under the conditions you are trying to use it.

If I may add some suggestions?

Some other factors to selecting the proper motor would be: