Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Soft Start Circuit Explanation

Status
Not open for further replies.

Glasgow_Paul

Hi guys,

I'm a complete electrical novice (biomed background), and I have a query I'm hoping someone here can clear up. Anyway, I had to design a surgical instrument that required the use of a motor, however, said motor required a soft start circuit which a member of our technical staff built for me (saved my ass).

The guy who built it for me is away on hol, and I need to explain how the circuit works, but I'm at a loss as to how this is. Would anyone here be kind enough to explain not in complete laymans terms, but simple enough for someone with a minor electronic background, how the attached circuit works, please?

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• circuit.jpg
    circuit.jpg
    45.1 KB · Views: 779
The high value 1M resistor R2 charges the fairly high value 10uF capacitor C1 slowly so its voltage rises slowly. Then the output voltage of the opamp rises slowly so the motor starts running slowly.

Crap, sorry. I should have mentioned that the motor is required to either rotate clockwise, counter-clockwise, or remain stationary. That 3 switch mess you see in the image is my attempt at "quick-fix" for a SP3T switch, which I didn't know how to create virtually (zero SPICE experience prior to this week).

Thanks, AG. So would I be correct in saying the two following things:-

1) The Op-Amp output cannot exceed its input voltage.