Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

simple switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

BrianO

Hi, I`m a complete newbie to all this.

My project: synchronizing two discs using simple electronic circuits:

I have 2 revolving discs each with metal contacts placed at intervals along the disc`s circumferance. When the contacts on a disc pass under a pick up point above and separate from the disc, current from a 1.5 volt battery flows across the pick up points completing a circuit.

Problem 1:
Since the disc is revolving, the contacts will only complete the circuit for a short time (1 sec max.) and since it is revolving I have to choke current back so that the original circuit does not power up when other contacts pass under the pick up. Placing diodes in this first circuit will prevent a back flow of current but which type of diode for a 1.5 volt circuit?

Problem 2:
The completed circuit comprising the first disc must then open a switch so that a completely separate circuit comprising the second disk is powered on. Is there a simple electronic component with this switching function and which when powered on for this short time will then stay switched on, so that the second circuit can be completed by the contacts on the revolving second disc?.

If not, what type of inexpensive silent switch will do the job?

I`m not sure that I`ve explained this satisfactorily and it might be easier with a diagram but I would be grateful for any help or suggestions which any of you may have.