Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

simple project for wireless remote control or small motor

Status
Not open for further replies.

InventDad

Hi All,
I'm new to this and am trying to build something to help my son who has a form of Dwarfism. I'd like to build a collapsible step that is attached to a wire (or string) that he can use while getting on and off the bus... the idea is that he would place the step on the ground, step up onto the bus, then turn around and retrieve the step using the wire.

I'd like to use a install a motor (maybe a small brushless kind used in remote controlled cars) connected to a wireless receiver/transmitter that would turn the motor in forward and reverse (and off?)

The forward position would release the wire allowing him to lower the step to the ground and the reverse position would retrieve the wire (and the step) so he can continue on his way.

I'm thining the step will weigh at least 3 or 4 pounds so the motor will have to be able to lift that amount.

I'm looking to start with some kind of basic wiring kits that hopefully include all the necessary parts (wireless transmitter, receiver, servo, motor, controller, etc) that I can install and test with.

I'm also looking for any good information I can read on wireless controls and rc circuits.
any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!!

I can't picture how this works, is it permanently attached to the bus, or is he carrying it with him? Could you post a sketch?

picture of step