Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simple PICAXE problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys, I'm a complete newbie in the world of PICAXE.

I want to make something (haven't really decided what yet) which responds to IR.

My program:

# picaxe 08m2

irin C.3, infra

main:
irin [1000, main], C.3, b0 ;wait for new signal

if b0= 1
then swon1 ;switch on 1

if b0 = 2
then swon2 ;switch on 2

if b0 = 3
then swon3 ;switch on 3

goto main

swon1: high C.0
pause 250
low C.0

swon2: high C.1
pause 250
low C.1

swon3: high C.2
pause 250
low C.2

When I do a syntax check, it tells me that "if b0 = 1" is a syntax error.

I realise this may be a really simple answer, but this has completely stumped me!! :)
Thanks for your time ;)

Perhaps you need capitals?

If b0 = 1 Then
swon1

Also, to save instruction cycles you should use ElseIf.

If b0 = 1 Then
swon1 ;switch on 1

ElseIf b0 = 2 Then
swon2 ;switch on 2

ElseIf b0 = 3 Then
swon3 ;switch on 3

End If

Last edited:
Hi Gobbledok. Thanks for the input, but unfortunately it does not work. :(

Isn't BASIC not case-sensitive? Meaning it won't make a difference.

And I can see what you mean by using elseif, thanks for the suggestion.

Sorry to ask, but do you have any other suggestions???

Just had a quick read.. You are right, BASIC is case insensitive. I have only -dabbled- in BASIC and am more of a C person myself.