Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

simple explanation of a vector space

Status
Not open for further replies.

PG1995

Hi, :)

I have some basic knowledge of matrices and vectors. mI understand some of their practical applications in real life. This idea of vector is entirely new to me. What is a vector in simpl terms, or to begin with? Please try to explain with some simple practical explanation. I would really appreciate this vector space teaching of yours. Many thanks.

Now it's not. It's nothing but Magnitude and direction. A car going 50 MPH in a southerly direction is a vector.

A 10 1lb block slidinging down a 45 degree hill will resolve into a single vector.
Rolling Friction is a vector opposing motion and proportional to speed.
The force of Gravity (mg) acts straight down on the object.
So, there is a "resultant" force pushing on the object down the hill.

It can get quite complex, like the speed and direction of an bug walking on a rotating propeller relative to the ground. I don't even want to go there, I hated that course (Dynamics).
The first example is a physics problem.

In geometry a vector is the difference of two coordinate points i.e. if you subtract two coordinate points you get a vector.

Strictly mathematically speaking you are not allowed to add two coordinate points. You can add a vector to a coordinate point and the result is a coordinate point.

Hi