Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simple data logger

Status
Not open for further replies.

helicooper

Hello all,
Let me preface with this with the fact that I am very very new to all electrical engineering and programming. My first and most important question has to do with cost.

I am looking into building a data logger that will be able to log voltages. This data logger needs to be able to take 4 channels of voltages and log them with a very low tolerance of error (sub millivolt-millivolt. Channel 1 needs to be logged every 5 minutes while channels 2-4 only need to be logged every 6 hours. The data logger needs to have onboard memory (enough to log the data for up to 3 months or possibly only 1 month if this becomes a cost issue), onboard power (for now only enough power to run for a couple days), and a way to start and stop the logging preferrably with an led light indicator of when it is recording. The logger also needs a usb plug that can act as a way to transfer the data to the computer. The board once finalized would only need to be programmed once. I apologize if this is too vague or not articulated enough/correctly.

EDIT: 2nd and 3rd questions answered on sticky post I should have read first. Thanks!

Thank you all for your time for a complete rookie.

Last edited:
Since you would like to use USB as a communication to your PC I think a PIC18F4550 would be a good start.