Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

setting 16f627A to 20 mhz

Status
Not open for further replies.

threewire

Hi,

I am new to PIC programming.I want to set my PIC 16F627A to 20 Mhz external crystal using the programming software (PICPgm).Could you please tell me how to?Also kindly tell me how do I set the config bits in the C code.I want to know both ways

Thanks in advance.

Don't know about PICPgm.But if we are using higher speed xtals like 20MHz we just set the OSC type to " _HS_OSC" in the configuration word.

You must mention the compiler that you are using to give an answer to your 2nd question.

Don't know about PICPgm.But if we are using higher speed xtals like 20MHz we just set the OSC type to " _HS_OSC" in the configuration word.

You must mention the compiler that you are using to give an answer to your 2nd question.

well I am using C55X compiler.PICPgm just takes config words.
picpgm config se&#99.JPG

Last edited:
Thing is I have not been able to set the 16f627 to 20 mhz.I did set the HS bits and MCLR_OFF .Prior to this it so happened that without setting the MCLR_OFF the LED code would give unexpected results.If I touch a pin of the microcontroller the LED would either go on or off.Similar to the problem here:

Newbie need Help 16F627a - MEL PICBASIC Forum