Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Servo Jitter Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

tommyr00

I am having trouble with my servos jittering and dancing. I am a leaving cert student, and the problem is on my Technology project which is due for submission soon. I am using as PICAXE High Powered Board, which uses the PICAXE 18M2 chip. The board is running a futaba s3003 servo motor and an astrosyn stepper motor. As it is secondary school level, my teacher is fully sure of the solution as he is not educated in depth in electronics. The board is programmed using Flowchart on the PIC Logicator Software. The board is using two seperate power supplies, a 9v and a 4.5v. When the servo is in idle it seems to twitch and jump, and when It carries out its command it does not stay still in its position. When i initially turn the board on the servo seems the smack the ground in the opposite direction then goes back to its idle position. The servo also jumps and almost violently when the stepper motor activates.
I have tried researching online but i cant find a definite answer and I am unable to understand a lot of the information as i am relatively new to this.
Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated as this project is worth 50% of my final leaving certificate grade ( In Ireland the leaving certificate is the final set of exams which determine whether you get into college!)

Hi Tommy

Welcome to ETO .. .. .. .

Can you show a schematic and also your code ?

S