Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Seeking advice on running 7 x WS2812b strips of 72 LEDs each over a distance

Status
Not open for further replies.

ekendra

I'm new to Arduino but have been coding for decades. My major shortcoming is knowing near nothing about electronics and circuitry. I'm really enjoying the learning process but, at present, my aspirations seem to outpace my ability. **broken link removed**

I'm prototyping a system that will illuminate each step of the staircase I'm building in our tiny house project. I want it to be controlled by two simple buttons that can be mashed as people ascend/descend the stairs; hence, one button would live at the top of the staircase and one at the bottom. I've already coded and tested that and it's working great .... AT CLOSE proximity to the breadboard/Arduino Uno that I'm using.

Here's the **broken link removed** if you're interested.

The problem comes when I'm running the buttons and LEDs from a distance. I've not yet hooked up all the strips since the first one went nutso when I hooked it up. I attached a 100uF capacitor across the positive and negative near the strip and that seemed to stabilize it ..... when the long button circuit is disconnected. I can substitute a testing button circuit on a breadboard just next to the Aduino and this works fine. When I pull this out and plug in the long actualbutton circuit, the LED strip goes unstable again.