Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Security gate remote wireless open or closed indicator

Status
Not open for further replies.

Richjen

Hi I am a newbie with limited electronics knowledge (built valve radios and transistor stuff as kid in 60's) I have a gate about 60m from my house and i never know if it is left open or shut. I am seeking to build as cheaply and descretely as possible a device that will indicate whether the gate is open or shut, i would rig this to a pen chart recorder to record time of opening /shutting (built from a 24hr clock and solenoid stylus. I thought to use a 433mhz key fob transmitter and solenoid receiver ala ebay and as the gate is metal with plastic coated netting over it i thought to use the gate itself with the slide bolt as the contact switch. so by running the power from the key fob switch through the gate circuit i could get a continous signal when the gate was closed with the latch slid into the gallvanised metal keep. I realise this will use up a lot of power and wireless transmission so ask for suggestions as to how electomechanically i could generate a pulse on for close , then when the circuit is broken another pulse for off. Would be grateful if anyone could make some suggestions as to the simplest way of achieving this?
Thankyou for reading this.

The 60m is big distance for 433MHz transmitter. Also, without some type of encryption, you'll be getting pulses all day long caused by noise.