1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

schematic for Pioneer SA-510

Discussion in 'Datasheets, Manuals or Parts' started by niq_ro, Feb 10, 2004.

  1. niq_ro

    niq_ro New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    57
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Romania/Europe
    I need schematic for audio amplifier Pioneer SA-510 ... I found 2 transistor per channel.. made by NEC, but I don't find datasheet for this

    D883A = 2SD883A and B773A = 2SB773A ? true or false ? :shock:
     

    Attached Files:

    • NEC.jpg
      NEC.jpg
      File size:
      11.7 KB
      Views:
      5,432
  2. damnyankee36

    damnyankee36 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    I have the same problem with my SA-510. Did you find replacements for these transistors? Does the D883A = 2SD883A and B773A = 2SB773A?
     
  3. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,331
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    ONLINE
    Japanese transistors don't print the leading '2S', so that is correct.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. zevon8

    zevon8 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    917
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada, eh

    You may be able to substitute the following:

    2SD883A to 2SC2579

    datasheet for original: http://homepage3.nifty.com/ebina2540/data/2SD/2SD0801-0900.htm

    2SB773A to 2SA1104

    datasheet for original:
    http://homepage3.nifty.com/ebina2540/data/2SB/2SB0701-0800.htm

    the datasheets are not all in English, but the information is there as far as ratings.

    I would really try to get an exact replacement, since substituting will require you to adjust the bias, possibly have to alter other values, etc, etc. You may find it is more hassle to substitute and try and get things working again, than to get the originals and maybe only have to make minor adjustments. Also, check the driver transistors they may not have survived the failure of these output transistors.
     
  6. hotwaterwizard

    hotwaterwizard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes:
    12
    Location:
    Sacramento,California USA
  7. hotwaterwizard

    hotwaterwizard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes:
    12
    Location:
    Sacramento,California USA
  8. niq_ro

    niq_ro New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    57
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Romania/Europe
  9. hotwaterwizard

    hotwaterwizard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes:
    12
    Location:
    Sacramento,California USA
    here is the 500 service manual
     

    Attached Files:

  10. hotwaterwizard

    hotwaterwizard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes:
    12
    Location:
    Sacramento,California USA
    Here is the Sa-520 Schematic
     

    Attached Files:

  11. hotwaterwizard

    hotwaterwizard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes:
    12
    Location:
    Sacramento,California USA
    Page 2
     

    Attached Files:

  12. hotwaterwizard

    hotwaterwizard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes:
    12
    Location:
    Sacramento,California USA
    Page 3
     

    Attached Files:

  13. hotwaterwizard

    hotwaterwizard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes:
    12
    Location:
    Sacramento,California USA
    Here is the SA-510 Additional Service Manual But not the Main one.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. AmpJ

    AmpJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    Hi,

    I have the SA-520 which had only the B773A on one channel faulty. I got the 2SA1941 pair and replaced all ouput transistors, only to blow them all, burn one of the bias resistors and blow a speaker, due to the DC passing through the shorted tranny...

    I noticed, the website I used to identify the equivalent, did not take into account the Bace-Emitter voltage. Otherwise, the transistor was a good match. The voltage difference is only 1 volt less. My question, will this small difference be the reason why the transistor fries itself? The Veb of the B773A is 6v, I am considdering a transistor with a rating of 7v. This should be ok as long as the Hfe is in the same region right?

    I have seen suggestions of the 2SA1104, but they are pricey.

    I am considdering:

    MJL3281AG with MJL1302AG or 2SA1492 and 2SA3856. If these fry themselves...

    BTW, no there aint anything else wrong with the amp. I actually had no fault on the left channel prior to installing the 2SA1941.

    Anyone have the schematic for the SA-520?

    Thanks.
     
  15. hotwaterwizard

    hotwaterwizard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes:
    12
    Location:
    Sacramento,California USA
    Here is a Schematic for the Pioneer SA520 Sorry it is not that great but may help.
     
  16. hotwaterwizard

    hotwaterwizard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes:
    12
    Location:
    Sacramento,California USA
    Here is a Better one I found for SA520
     
  17. AmpJ

    AmpJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    Hi Hotwaterwizard. Thank you for the SM. It seems it would be better to obtain the exact transistors. I came accross a store in UK, which have some stock. I checked every single component, and they are all good. The replacement transistors seemed to have gone into thermal runaway. I see Pioneer used a different Diode matching circuit when they used the 2SA1104 on the SA-540 amp. With some patience, I can probably make the circuit changes, but i thing getting the identical transistors is MUCH easier...

    I also see on the circuit Idle current adjustment, which I find strange. There are no adustable resistors in my amp. I have the Euro model.

    Have anyone done a repair using different transistors in this one successfully?

    Cheers :)
     
  18. hotwaterwizard

    hotwaterwizard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes:
    12
    Location:
    Sacramento,California USA
    Here is the Pioneer SA-540 Schematic.
     
  19. AmpJ

    AmpJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    Hi,

    It seems that I may have a biasing issue. The schematic shows "Idle current adj" I do not find any adjustable components in my amp. Any advise how I have to adjust the bias? I do not seem to have the entire service manual. I find many equivalent transistors, but not the exact ones, so I will have to play with the biasing... Anyone that can tell me how? Thanks.
     
  20. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,331
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    ONLINE
    The bias current adjustment is simply cutting a wire link - which will INCREASE the bias.

    If you've fitted other than the exact original transistors then you will probably have to make the bias more correctly 'adjustable' - add a 10K variable resistor between base and collector of the Vbe, the lower it's set the lower the bias
     
  21. AmpJ

    AmpJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    Hi Nigel, Thank you for the advice. Excuse my ignorance, my text books referred as Vbe being "Voltage between base and emitter" will you please draw your suggestion on this? View attachment 63313

    I would then like to add, when I had the non-original transistors installed, it worked fine for about five minutes. Could the fact that I did not put in new thermal grease be the cause it went into thermal runaway so quickly at low output? I just bought a new tube, since my daughter thought mine would look great in the carpets... :)
     

Share This Page