Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Rookie with a new project

Status
Not open for further replies.

Welshy141888

Hi all
First time post for me.

I am currently trying to design a circuit where i can measure the time an object is between a laser and sensor. I would need the timer to start as soon as the object breaks the beam and stops as soon as the object is removed. Possibly an LED to indicate the timer has started.
I am a total rookie at this but it would come in handy at work.
Any advice or information would be very well appreciated.

Thanks
Paul

One way:
Aim Laser at a Photo Diode or Photo transistor.
Output of Photo Diode output is Normally High with Light on it.
Connect an Inverter to this, So Output goes High when Light is Blocked.
Connect this output to run a digital Timer.

NOTE: The Photo Diode or Transistor Needs to be in the back of a long TUBE or PIPE, To BLOCK Normal LIGHT from hitting it.