Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Robotic Programming Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandfish

I have never used c or basic programming before. I decided to look at what microcontrollers I could buy that would be able to to direct an autonomous robot that uses an ultrasonic transceiver to detect the objects. I thought the microcontroller would be able to interpret the signals from the transceiver and turn on the right motor, the left motor, or both motors depending on which way the robot would have to go to evade the object. I looked at the basic stamp and I also looked at the PIC. I know the the PIC is cheaper but how much harder is the PIC and are the PIC programmers compatible with most of the PIC's or or just some of them? Any other advice?

If you get the 18F series PIC, Microchip supplies a free C compiler. There are also free BASIC compilers like SwordFish which will work with an ordinary PIC. Since you know neither language, the choice is yours. Personally, I'd go with the 18F series and the C compiler. The basic stamp would be too limiting for a project like this.
For programmers look at the PicKit2 or a clone like Blueroom's junebug.

well I would say buy a pickit2 with demo board it comes with 16f690, just go through all the example codes given in the user guide of the board, of course the codes will be in assembly language but it will be very easy for you to program C after working on that, just if you want to go that way.... I found that easy.

Cheers !