Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Robot wars!University of Cape town Mechatronics project

Status
Not open for further replies.

riki4eva

Hi guys!

I am in my 3rd year of Mechatronics at the University of Cape town. We were recently given our project for this year. We are supposed to build a robot that stays in a circle of radius of 2m encircled by black tape along with one of the other robots. The robot is switched on and then has to look for the other robot in the circle without leaving the circle, and as soon as it detects the other robot, it will shoot a small ping pong ball at the other robot. If the robot misses the other robot, then it's aim become to dodge the other robot.

We have finished building our line sensor, the one that detects the black tape, and this signal is going to be fed into a micro controller. We would really like to optimise our line sensor, so does anybody have the schematic for a simple but effective black (or white) line sensor?

Our next step is building the robot sensor, this will be a standard thing for all the robots, if anyone does have any good ideas about this too...then please keep on posting at this topic..would really appreciate all of your help. I will be posting regularily about the problems and looking for solutions and better techniques to build a great robot.

The robot will be run with a 12V battery, and a JK1 microcontroller chip will be used.Thanx