Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Reusing power supply from a printer - please help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mvoltin

Hi, I am fairly new to electronics and need an advice on reusing PSU from a printer (please excuse my terribly non-technical language below). I already spent 2 days and it it is much easier to buy one but this has become a challenge. I took apart two large printers and have the same issue: 3.3v, 5v and 12V work fine but 24v does not output any current. It requires some kind of feedback or input with a lower voltage (just like ATX power supply) but cannot figure out how. Tried just about any kind of loop-back with "flowing" or "static" current to no avail.

At this point I am not trying to "fool" the PSU to output the 24V but rather trying to figure out the PCB and modify it (with desoldering parts or adding a few) so that the output happens without any kind of feedback (is there a relay that is controlling the output?). This would also allow not to have a 5v supply running on a side all the time. The first picture is the entire set-up when trying to hack it. The rest of the pictures are the closeups of the PSU's PCB. thank you in advance.

Attachments

• PS1.JPG
    PS1.JPG
    592.8 KB · Views: 378
  • PS2.JPG
    PS2.JPG
    576.3 KB · Views: 495
  • PS3.JPG
    PS3.JPG
    499 KB · Views: 409
  • PS4.JPG
    PS4.JPG
    429.3 KB · Views: 541
  • PS5.JPG
    PS5.JPG
    472.5 KB · Views: 357
  • PS6.JPG
    PS6.JPG
    221.5 KB · Views: 320