Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Red Light Relay???

Status
Not open for further replies.

wjp9639

Could someone help me build a circuit to run lights in a novelty redlight sequentially like at a real red light? I have an old redlight that I want to put in my shop and make the lights cycle through 3 bulbs sequentially? It's probably pretty simple, but I'm pretty new to electronics. I want to use 3 110v 75 watt bulbs. Thanks, and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Could someone help me build a circuit to run lights in a novelty redlight sequentially like at a real red light? I have an old redlight that I want to put in my shop and make the lights cycle through 3 bulbs sequentially? It's probably pretty simple, but I'm pretty new to electronics. I want to use 3 110v 75 watt bulbs. Thanks, and any help would be greatly appreciated.

hi,:)
I would suggest that you use relays, one for each of the three mains lamps.

A simple sequencer using something like a 555 timer for the oscillator and a 4017 counter/decoder to drive three transistors which would in turn power the dc relays.
You will require a 12V wall wart power supply, about 12Vdc at 300mA.

I'll attach some some circuit links.
Look at the LED sequencer circuits, they use the same timing ideas to drive LED's.

**broken link removed**

Last edited: