Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Range of ADC, can it be changed?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LijoeThomas

I am kinda new to handling ADC's, so bare with me all ye enlightened ones.

I need to digitise an input which varies from 0v to 1.5v using a ADC0804.
The range of this IC, i believe is 0-5v. Can we modify the range in which it works, say 0-1.5v so that i can have a better resolution.

Thanks.......

Actually i need as high a resolution as I can get by reducing the range and at the same time try to use a 8bit adc such as the adc0804.
My source gives an ouput from 0-1.5V

for example: if the range is 0-1.5V the resolution is going to be approx 6mV whereas as if the range is 0-5V then the resolution is 20mV.

So what i need to know is that if the Vref/2 can be set to .75V so that the range is only from 0 to 1.5V. I didnt not fully understand this from the datasheet.

If someone could help with this, would be grateful.

LijoeThomas said:
Actually i need as high a resolution as I can get by reducing the range and at the same time try to use a 8bit adc such as the adc0804.
My source gives an ouput from 0-1.5V

for example: if the range is 0-1.5V the resolution is going to be approx 6mV whereas as if the range is 0-5V then the resolution is 20mV.

So what i need to know is that if the Vref/2 can be set to .75V so that the range is only from 0 to 1.5V. I didnt not fully understand this from the datasheet.

If someone could help with this, would be grateful.