Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Quick electronic repair question

Status
Not open for further replies.

JeremyZButler

Hi there
I am a complete electronics novice, but am just hoping to get some advice as to whether this item could be fixable. The attached photo shows the inside of a charging cradle for a baby monitor.

A day ago the cradle stopped working. The brown mark you can see suggests to me that the component (I don’t even know what it is called) has fried itself.

I’d appreciate any advice as to whether I might be able to get this gadget working again or if it is fried altogether. Could it just be as simple as getting a replacement component from an electronics store and carefully soldering it into place?

Thanks for any advice. Happy to provide any specs that might be necessary.

Thanks again.

Attachments

• IMG_5213.jpg
    IMG_5213.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 102
Without measureing You could figure out nothing.

I think the component is a resistor.
The value of it You can get by decoding the colored rings on it ( Search for Resistor color code ).
Then Yo have to measure if that fits with the part.
Other components on the PCB that are conected to the resistor cea decrease the mesuring result!

That such a part will be hot is normal.
Any other part on the PCB can be damaged too.
Most You can figure out with an resitance meter and an diode tester.

The noted component below (R3) has been replaced with the external resistor (rather sloppily, IMHO) and