Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Questions on the PIC16f84 and at90s2313

Status
Not open for further replies.

jtsao22

Hello, I'm new to microcontrollers, but am very interested in using them to do many different tasks. Okay, so right now i have a PIC16f84 and a couple atmel at90s2313 microcontrollers and was wondering if you guys knew any easy, cheap programmers that i could make given a schematic. I have a couple parallel port um adapters? i guess you could call it that as well as a db9 adapter to connect to the computer. Oh and well...i guess some diodes, resistors, transistors, etc. However, this computer only has a parallel port so hopefully the programmer can stick to using that. Okay and the other thing is..once i have made the programmer, I was wondering what software i should use to program the microcontroller. Also, i was wondering how to know if the microcontroller is actually talking to the computer or not...like how do i verify if it is working correctly? Also, i do not know assembly and well i've learned a little C++, but I don't know how far off that is from the C you have to use to program these microcontrollers. I have tried making some programmers but have failed because i had no idea how to use IC-prog (err one of those programs err i found online) . Um...at this point the happiest thing in the world for me (ok not the happiest, buttt yeahh) would just be able to see like "Helloworld" output coming back from the microcontroller on the computer. (Or like even th